2015-2016 Quantum J/70 Winter Overall and Series 3 Results

February 8, 2016


John Baxter and crew Vinyard Vines won the 2015-2016 Quantum J/70 Winter Series after winning the first two events and placing 6th in the third and last event.  Brian Elliott with Team B-Squared won the overall series Corinthian standing.


From Fleet 9, Dave Franzel took 13th overall, Darby Smith finished 16th and Frank McNamara 27th.  Will Welles finished 7th.


Series 3:

Forty-seven teams competed in the last of the three regatta 2015-16 Quantum J/70 Winter Series hosted by Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa, Florida.  


Marty Kullman and Team New Wave took first place with no race worse than 5th of five races, while Rob Britts and Team Hott Mess topped the 25-boat Corinthian sub-division. 


The series consisted of a total of five races, three on day one and two on day two.  On day one, the wind blew 5 to 13 knots out of the northwest with 20 degree oscillations to either side.  On day two, breeze built to +25 knots from the Northwest with 1 to 2 feet maximum seas and some chaotic sailing.


From Fleet 9, Darby Smith with Team Africa crew Will Felder, Marc Gauthier and Rachael Silverstein earned an impressive 8th place overall with 57 overall points.   Frank McNamara with Team Chinook sailed very fast but ended 23rd place overall after an unfortunately OCS in race number four.






Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

J/70 Fleet 9: Marblehead, Massachusetts USA


J/70 Corinthian National Championship hosted by Eastern Yacht Club
Postponed to 2021