2015-16 Quantum J/70 Winter Series 1 Results

December 14, 2015

Forty-eight teams competed in the first event of the 2015-16 Quantum J/70 Winter Series.  Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa, Florida is the host club and the first series of racing was held on December 12-13.  John Baxter took the first series title, while Mark Foster topped the 24-boat Corinthian sub-division. 


The series consisted to a total of seven races, four on day one and three on day two.  On day one, the wind blew a light 5 knots out of the east but built up to 10 knots during the last race.  The right side of the track seemed to pay early in the day, but the left provided more gains later.


One day two, the first race saw only 6 knots of breeze, but by race three, the wind strength had built to a 10-15 knot range providing for some planing conditions.


In the Open Division, Jud Smith with Team Africa finished in third place overall and Will Welles with Team Sea Bags finished 6th overall.   Dave Franzel and Team Spring ended up 17th overall.  


Frank McNamara and Team Chinook finished 29th in the Open division and 12th in the overall Corinthian standings.



Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

J/70 Fleet 9: Marblehead, Massachusetts USA


J/70 Corinthian National Championship hosted by Eastern Yacht Club
Postponed to 2021